Cincinnati Cyclones

Over the past few months, I have been in contact with some ECHL and USHL hockey teams about photographing for them.  A handful of teams have gotten back to me; each one saying that they’re not able to pay much/anything, but also said that if I’m ever in the area for a game, to let them know and they’ll set me up with a media pass so I can shoot a game there.  I have decided to make it a point to take each team up on their offer, and go show them what I can do for them specifically.

US Bank Arena panorama

US Bank Arena panorama
(You must contact http://www.aepoc.com in order to use this image for any reason)

Saturday, October 13th was the first of these trips, and it was a 476 mile journey to Cincinnati, Ohio, to photograph the Cincinnati Cyclones hosting the Wheeling Nailers at US Bank Arena.  The above image was my first panorama inside a hockey arena, so please be kind.  It’s a culmination of 20+ RAW images.

Cincinnati Cyclones forward Mattias Lindstrom.
(You must contact http://www.aepoc.com in order to use this image for any reason)

It was a long drive, that is for certain!  An hour or so in the hotel room, and we were off to the game via trolley.  Okay, so, we missed our first stop, but we ended up getting to the rink in time.  I met up with my contact there, and he showed me the places I’m allowed to shoot.  It was opening night for the Cyclones, so there was a lot of people, and it ended up being a great time.

Cincinnati Cyclones forward David Pacan crashing the net.
(You must contact http://www.aepoc.com in order to use this image for any reason)

After the game, we walked back to the hotel, slept, got up, and drove another 476 miles back.  It’s always a great weekend when there’s hockey involved!

Cincinnati Cyclones forward Garrett Wilson celebrating after putting a backhand in the back of the net.
(You must contact http://www.aepoc.com in order to use this image for any reason)

Cincinnati Cyclones forward and Captain Mathieu Aubin celebrating after his shootout goal.
(You must contact http://www.aepoc.com in order to use this image for any reason)

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “Cincinnati Cyclones

  1. . October 30, 2012 at 8:55 am Reply

    great job! I know first hand how hard it is not to get stuck in one spot. looks like you did a great job moving around the arena. I have a pass this year for Colorado College games, will be shooting my first one next week I think.

    • aepoc October 30, 2012 at 8:57 am Reply

      Thank you sir! Shooting CC sounds excellent. Need another shooter? :)

  2. Dylan October 30, 2012 at 1:42 pm Reply

    These look excellent! I hadn’t considered the environmental limitations (clean glass, poor lighting, arena design) until I went to that game with you guys and was surprised by the obstacles even a 3 year old arena could present. That definitely makes shooting much more difficult. Nice work!!

    • aepoc October 30, 2012 at 2:09 pm Reply

      Yeah it can be a challenge, but I’m glad I was able to pull some good stuff out from Cincinnati. The Dubuque shots will be up Friday! Thanks Dylan, much appreciated.

  3. Chris November 4, 2012 at 7:31 am Reply

    Nice pics dude! Is it possible to get the original image of Lindstrom?

  4. aepoc November 5, 2012 at 6:26 am Reply

    It is possible, yes. Send me an email via my contact form on http://www.aepoc.com and we’ll set something up.

Leave a Reply

