Get ’em printed!

Radixes_9561

Everything is so digital these days. Well yeah, duh. Most people take pictures with their phone, and more and more people have digital cameras these days… hell, my dad’s parents EACH have one. It seems to me like there are a lot less PRINTS being made of these photos. It’s like all they do is live on memory cards, hard drives, and flash drives. I’ve taken squillions of photos in the last seven years, and haven’t had all that many printed. Last year I did a print project, for that specific reason… I needed more prints. Here I am, trying to figure out some sort of order for my Print Project… which consisted of 288 individual 4×6 prints, each with a half-inch white border. It took about seven hours… and a whole lot of double-sided tape.

The Photos

(a short video of it being put up)

Anyhow, having something tangible… something to hand to people to show them, or let them keep, is very powerful. Pictures on a monitor, phone, or tablet look fine for the most part, but it’s nothing quite like a nice print. Sometimes it’s easier to just let the camera do the printing, which is why I have a Fujifilm Instax 210 camera too. Only $60, and you get nice color prints.

What I’m getting to here is that if you get some prints done of some of your images, you’ll feel better. Don’t believe me, just try it. And for what it’s worth, I get my prints done at mpix.com This isn’t an ad for them, and they’re not paying me to put it in this blog (that’d be pretty cool though); I’m just putting it there because they do fantastic work.

Maybe sometime I’ll even give out some free prints here, if that’s something that would be well received.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

